Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed


Velázquez Leads NYC Members in Demanding Answers Surrounding Death of MDC Detainee Edwin Segarra

Velázquez Leads NYC Members in Demanding Answers Surrounding Death of MDC Detainee Edwin Segarra
February 19, 2021
Press Release

Washington, DC—Congresswoman Nydia M. Velázquez (D-NY) has led thirteen of her New York House and Senate colleagues in a letter to the Metropolitan Detention Center (MDC) and Federal Bureau of Prisons (BOP) demanding information on the recent death of detainee Edwin Segarra from COVID-19. MDC has yet to release information about Segarra’s condition and treatment prior to being hospitalized for COVID-19. With MDC’s troubled history, the lawmakers are asking for a detailed account of what happened as well as more information on the facility’s vaccination and COVID-19 prevention efforts.

“While we understand that Mr. Edwin Segarra suffered from preexisting conditions, what has been less clear is the overall treatment and management of his care prior to his hospital admission,” wrote the lawmakers. “It is also unclear if he was tested for COVID-19 before being vaccinated, and if so, when those test results came back to the institution; what treatment he received prior to being found unresponsive in his cell on the morning of February 5; how long after he was hospitalized he passed away; and what information has been shared by the BOP with his family.”
The lawmakers continued, “Indeed, it is our hope that forthcoming details on Mr. Segarra’s death are not related to neglect or reckless management. We remain committed to ensuring that New York’s BOP facilities are managed properly and may take further actions as warranted by a review of the conditions and circumstances, in order to protect detainees and employees.”
In addition to Velázquez, the letter is signed by New York Senators Charles E. Schumer and Kirsten E. Gillibrand, and New York Representatives: Jerrold Nadler; Hakeem Jeffries; Carolyn B. Maloney; Yvette D. Clarke; Gregory W. Meeks; Grace Meng; Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez; Adriano Espaillat; Jamaal Bowman; Ritchie Torres; and Thomas R. Suozzi.
The full letter can be found here