Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Congresswoman Nydia Velazquez

Representing the 7th District of New York


Velazquez, Serrano Call for the US to Provide Assistance to Storm-Ravaged Haiti and the Dominican Republic

Velázquez, Serrano Call for the US to Provide Assistance to Storm-Ravaged Haiti and the Dominican Republic
November 5, 2007
Press Release

Washington, DC –Today, Congressmembers Nydia M. Velázquez (D-NY) and José E. Serrano (D-NY) sent a letter to President Bush urging rapid aid to Haiti and the Dominican Republic, which were hit hard by Tropical Storm Noel. The letter reads as follows.

November 2, 2007

The Honorable George W. Bush
United States of America
1600 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20500

Mr. President:

Last week’s devastating Tropical Storm Noel has caused great harm to our Caribbean neighbors. The loss of life and property are compounded by the continuing pain caused by the destruction of vital infrastructure and food crops. Both the Dominican Republic and Haiti are in need of significant humanitarian assistance from the United States.

It has been reported that in the Dominican Republic alone more than 100 people are dead or missing, over 16,000 residences have been damaged and more than 65,000 individuals have been forced from their homes. Additionally, dozens of communities are inaccessible and heavy rains have destroyed entire fields of rice and plantains. Our country must act swiftly before the situation deteriorates further and more human lives are placed in danger, even as the water levels subside.

The people of Haiti and the Dominican Republic need our help. The United States should provide assistance in the form of equipment to aid those communities isolated by the rains; materials to rebuild their damaged infrastructure and the economic resources necessary to prevent this natural disaster from becoming a more tragic humanitarian crisis.


Nydia M. Velázquez                                          José E. Serrano

Member of Congress                                         Member of Congress